Summer Squash Pasta

Ingredients:

2 pounds fresh zucchini squash, quartered

2/3 or up to 1 cup of chicken broth (I use low fat, reduced sodium)

1 medium onion, diced

Extra Virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp butter

Parmesan cheese, grated

1 pound pasta of your choice (spiral type noodles will grab the sauce best)

Directions:

Heat oil in a dutch oven or cast iron pan

When hot, add onions and cook until translucent

Add zucchini and chicken stock, stir

Cook on a low boil, stirring every 10-15 minutes

After about 20 minutes, taste, and add salt and pepper as needed

Continue to cook at a low boil, stirring every 10 minutes until zucchini begins to break down; you can aid the process by mashing with a spoon or potato masher.

After 50-60 minutes, add the butter and stir until melted; add splashes of broth (or pasta water) until the sauce has the consistency you like (ideally not too thin).

Cook pasta according to directions, pour sauce over hot noodles, add parmesan cheese and enjoy!

Review:

Ok, if you have read my blog in the past (it’s been a hot minute, sorry), you know I don’t like spending a lot of time on intricate dishes. This recipe is adapted slightly from Meghan Markle’s “famous” dish, but the recipe I saw didn’t have onion in it and took FOUR HOURS to cook the zucchini down. Girl, no. Why spend all that time waiting when a Dutch Oven can create the same “mush” in a quarter of the time?

I tasted the sauce as it cooked down, and I was surprised how much flavor it had! I think using chicken broth and then adding a little salt and pepper was key. The butter at the end loosened the sauce a tiny bit and added a nice touch of fat and silky texture. I mean, honestly, I would never have ordered this in a restaurant or believed someone if they told me how much flavor it has, but this is a delicious, light dish that’s perfect for summer! It could easily be paired with some homemade turkey meatballs for a non-vegetarian dish, or paired with a steak as a side.

I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I did (and as much as Meghan, apparently). If you make any changes or have recommendations, please leave a comment below!

Leave a comment